Appointments/Reappointment Announced to State Byways Commission

February 5, 2014 - Statewide Transportation Plan - DENVER – Three appointments and one reappointment have been announced to serve on the 15-member Colorado Scenic and Historic Byways Commission.

The following commissioners will serve a three-year term:

  • Representative K.C. Becker (D-Boulder) represents the State Legislature – appointed
  • Charlotte Bumgarner (R-Guffey), from Gold Belt Tour National Scenic Byway, represents the Eastern Byways – appointed
  • Margaret Hunt (U-Denver) represents Colorado Creative Industries - appointed
  • Leah Quesenberry (D-Cañon City) represents the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) – reappointed

In addition to the entities listed above, other members of the Commission represent the following: Colorado Transportation Commission, History Colorado, BLM, Creative Industries, Eastern Colorado Byways, Western Colorado Byways, U.S. Forest Service, State Legislature, Land Conservation, Members at Large, and four Ex-Officio Commissioners from state departments. 

Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and they work to increase regional effectiveness and promote awareness of rural tourism, economic development, scenic conservation, historic preservation and recreation.  Commissioners also provide a significant catalyst to bring together federal, state, local and private entities under one program. 

In addition, the Commission is charged with developing and recommending funding sources and assisting with the coordination of the budget process and allocating federal, state, and private funds for byway development and management. It also evaluates and designates Colorado’s Scenic and Historic Byways.

Colorado’s Byways program is celebrating 26 years of service to tourists and the state’s economy by designating routes that provide exceptional scenic, historical, cultural, and recreational opportunities.  

For additional publications or more information about the Scenic and Historic Byways, please visit