News

SH 392 Crews Return to Lucerne Monday Before Final Paving

WELD COUNTY—On Monday, the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) will return to the west end of the SH 392 work zone in Lucerne to mill asphalt and prepare the road surface for final paving east of the railroad tracks.

Stay Informed

Intermittently next week, flaggers will control access on SH 392 between US 85 and WCR 39 to perform work between the railroad crossing and WCR 39. From 7 a.m. - 5 p.m., eastbound motorists will be detoured onto eastbound WCR 66 to northbound WCR 39. All lanes will reopen during non-work hours.

Since April, CDOT and prime contractor Martin Marietta have been preparing the road surface for final paving on SH 392 from east of US 85 (mile point 115.5) in Lucerne to WCR 59 (MP 126). Except for approximately 400 feet in Lucerne, crews have completed initial road work within the entire work zone, which is more than 10 miles long.

Initial work included pulverizing the existing asphalt, processing the asphalt in-place for use as road base, compacting the surface and placing the first asphalt layer. Traffic is currently traveling on a temporary road surface.

Crews will begin placing the final asphalt layer on SH 392 starting in Lucerne and head east toward WCR 59. The mobile operation will continue east through early August. At the same time, crews will pave intersection and driveway transitions.

SH 392 will continue to be subject to pilot car and flagger control in a single-lane, alternating traffic configuration during daylight working hours. Motorists should expect up to 20-minute delays on SH 392 during paving operations. Traffic will be held at intersections and driveways while equipment passes through.

During final asphalt placement, delays to motorists on county roads and driveways intersecting SH 392 will be significantly longer than the initial phase. Periodically, the project may require restricting turning movements at intersections for extended periods.

Any detours will be signed. Speed limits will be reduced to 40 mph, and fines are doubled within work zones.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal