News

Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement cites 96 drivers in El Paso County and 1,336 cited statewide

December 11, 2020 - Southeastern Colorado Traffic Safety - 96 drivers in El Paso County and 1,336 cited statewide

Citation totals for each county or law enforcement agency can be found at: https://www.codot.gov/safety/traffic-safety-reporting-portal

COLORADO SPRINGS — The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) and 61 law enforcement agencies across Colorado recently teamed up for a statewide Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement period. A total of 1,336 drivers were cited from Nov. 16 to Nov. 29 for unrestrained vehicle occupants. This includes 98 drivers who had improperly restrained children under the age of 15 in their vehicle. 

Law enforcement agencies in El Paso County cited 96 drivers.  Among the agencies with the highest number of citations were the Colorado Springs Police Department with 52 citations, and El Paso County Sheriff with 16 citations. In addition, Colorado State Patrol cited 28 drivers in the area. A full list of the citation results for all 61 law enforcement agencies can be found at https://www.codot.gov/safety/traffic-safety-reporting-portal.

Fines for not buckling up start at $65, and parents or caregivers caught with an improperly restrained child can receive a minimum fine of $82.

“Nearly 300 Coloradans have been killed in passenger vehicle crashes this year,” said Chief Matthew Packard, Colorado State Patrol. “Although hard to believe this is occurring in 2020, over half of those involved unbuckled drivers or passengers. Buckling up would have helped them survive.” 

El Paso County has had a total of 22 unbuckled traffic fatalities in 2020 (Jan. 1 - Nov. 1), accounting for roughly 66% of the 33 total passenger vehicle deaths in the county this year. El Paso County’s seat belt use rate is 87%, down from 90% in 2019. The statewide rate is 86%

Pueblo County has had a total of five unbuckled fatalities in 2020 (Jan. 1 - Nov. 1), accounting for 71% of the seven total passenger vehicle deaths in the county this year. Pueblo County’s seat belt use rate is 74%, one of the lowest in the state. The statewide rate is 86%

In 2019, 189 unbuckled drivers and passengers were killed in crashes in the state, accounting for more than half of Colorado’s 370 total passenger vehicle deaths.

From 2013 to 2017, 30 children from infants to age 8 were killed in passenger vehicle crashes in Colorado. Among these, more than half were in an improperly used or installed car seat — or no car seat at all. Parents and caregivers can learn more about Colorado child passenger safety laws, recommendations and recalls at CarSeatsColorado.com.

With COVID-19 cases continuing to grow dramatically, CDOT is also urging people to cancel gatherings with people who don't live together. People are also reminded to always wear a mask if they must go out in public and stay six feet apart from others.

The last statewide Click It or Ticket enforcement period was in July 2020. Sixty participating law enforcement agencies cited 2,504 drivers and passengers for not buckling up.

For the November enforcement period, CDOT partnered with Colorado State Patrol troopers and law enforcement agencies across Colorado to record messages on why buckling up is so important. To view these videos, visit: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ceqyux447h33z93/AAAi8vTmnKu3NXzzdvt1pE9Pa?dl=0

CDOT’s new seat belt campaign, Common Bond, launched in July 2020. It highlights that while Coloradans hold passionate opinions and may not agree on everything, we can all get behind seat belts and the importance of buckling up. The campaign was featured on billboards, posters, bus tails, social media, and radio PSAs. To view campaign materials, visit: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/c1bu6ktdw79jkoa/AADcw32hHrh1OHNV26mCSWKga?dl=0

Learn more about Click It or Ticket enforcement and Colorado’s seat belt laws at codot.gov/safety/seatbelts. For Spanish campaign information, visit https://www.codot.gov/safety/seatbelts/cinturones-de-seguridad/

Colorado's Seat Belt Laws

  • Adults — Colorado has a secondary enforcement law for adult drivers and front-seat passengers. Drivers can be ticketed for violating the seat belt law if they are stopped for another traffic violation.

  • Teens — Colorado’s Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) law requires all drivers under 18 and their passengers, regardless of their age, to wear seat belts. This is a primary enforcement, meaning teens can be pulled over simply for not wearing a seat belt or having passengers without seat belts.

  • Children — Colorado's Child Passenger Safety law is a primary enforcement, meaning the driver can be stopped and ticketed if an officer sees an unrestrained or improperly restrained child under age 16 in the vehicle. 

The Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement is a critical component of CDOT's Whole System — Whole Safety initiative and the agency’s vision to reduce the number of deaths and injuries on Colorado roadways.

About Click It or Ticket

Click It or Ticket is a nationwide campaign from NHTSA. Since Click It or Ticket was introduced in Colorado in 2002, statewide seat belt use has increased from 72% to 86%. For more information about seat belt safety, visit SeatBeltsColorado.com.

Whole System. Whole Safety.

To heighten safety awareness, CDOT recently announced its Whole System — Whole Safety initiative. This project takes a systematic statewide approach to safety combining the benefits of CDOT’s programs that address driving behaviors, our built environment and the organization's operations. The goal is to improve the safety of Colorado’s transportation network by reducing the rate and severity of crashes and improving the safety of all transportation modes. The program has one simple mission—to get everyone home safely.

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal