CDOT Division of Transit & Rail Civil Rights Program

The Division of Transit & Rail (DTR) is the CDOT division responsible for managing funds from the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). These funds are used for the planning, development, operation, and integration of transit and rail into the statewide transportation system. The Civil Rights & Business Resource Center works with the DTR to implement and monitor compliance with FTA's civil rights requirements. 

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and related statutes prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, and age. These statutes apply to the Division of Transit & Rail and organizations that receive federal funds through DTR. 

As a recipient of federal funds, each subrecipient must develop a Title VI Program in accordance with FTA Circular 4702.1B, “Title VI Requirements and Guidelines for Federal Transit Administration Recipients.” The purpose of a Title VI Program is to ensure non-discrimination in the recipient’s services, programs, and activities.  The Division of Transit & Rail will not distribute any funds to an agency without a documented Title VI Program.  After initial submission, Title VI Programs must be updated and submitted to CDOT on a schedule to be determined by CDOT. Title VI Programs will be reviewed by the Division of Transit & Rail and CDOT civil rights staff. Appendix A of FTA Circular 4702.1B contains a checklist of Title VI Program requirements. 

Subrecipient Title VI Resources

Federal Transit Administration (FTA)

CDOT Division of Transit & Rail (DTR)

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program

CDOT’s Division of Transit and Rail has adopted a race-neutral program to meet its DBE tri-annual goal. Therefore, subrecipients of federal funds from CDOT do not need to set DBE goals on contracting opportunities, but must comply with the DBE program and report all DBE participation on contracting opportunities.  

Additional Links