New and Re-Appointments to the State Transportation Commission Announced

August 8, 2013 - Statewide Transportation Plan - STATEWIDE - Governor John Hickenlooper announced appointments to several boards and commissions, including those to the State Transportation Commission.

The Transportation Commission formulates general policy for the Colorado Department of Transportation with respect to the management, construction and maintenance of public highways and other transportation systems in the state. The Commission also works to assure that the preservation and enhancement of Colorado’s environment, safety, mobility and economics is considered in the planning of all transportation projects.

Each commissioner is appointed by the Governor, confirmed by the Senate, and serves a four-year term. To provide continuity, the commissioners’ term expiration dates are staggered every two years.

Shannon M. Gifford of Denver was appointed to serve as commissioner from the 1st Transportation District, representing Denver. Ms. Gifford is currently president of Denver-based Helios Associates, a business and financial consulting firm. She has worked for the past two decades as an independent consultant, principally in the real estate industry. Prior to moving to Colorado she worked for Columbia University in project development and finance. She is an active participant in the civic life of Denver, as a member of Denver’s planning board; as a past board member and president of the Lower Downtown Neighborhood Association; through past service on the LoDo District Board and as co-chair of its Urban Design Committee; and as a member of the Downtown Area Plan Steering Committee. During the 1990s, Ms. Gifford also served as chair of the Colorado Commercial Real Estate Coalition’s land use committee, which considered and commented on pending state legislation related to land use. She currently serves on the boards of the Denver Film Society and Colorado Humanities. Ms. Gifford replaces former Commissioner Trey Rogers, who had served since 2010.

“I welcome this opportunity to serve Colorado, with the goal of improving transportation to make it a better place to live, work and visit,” Gifford said.

Sidny K. Zink of Durango, will serve as commissioner from the 8th Transportation District, representing the counties of Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Rio Grande, Saguache, San Juan and San Miguel. Ms. Zink is a CPA and an owner of FredrickZink & Associates, PC, in Durango. She has been an adjunct professor of auditing for Fort Lewis College, instructor of the college’s continuing education courses, and a lecturer for Denver’s Community Resource Center. She has held several leadership positions within the CPA profession, including serving as past chair of the 8,800-member Colorado Society of CPAs and now current chair of its Continuing Education Board. Ms. Zink has also been an active member of the civic community, as a participant in Governor Hickenlooper’s TBD Colorado; a Club 20 member; a former Durango City Council member and mayor of Durango; La Plata Forum member; Homebuilders Association of SW Colorado; Green Business Roundtable participant and more. Ms. Zink steps into the Commission seat previously held by Steve Parker, who’d served since 2001.

“I am very excited to be asked to represent the interests of southwest Colorado in such a critical arena as transportation,” Zink said. “I’m a numbers person by profession, so I hope my analytical skills will be useful on the Commission in the face of continued transportation funding challenges.”

Douglas Aden of Grand Junction was reappointed to serve as commissioner from the 7th Transportation District, representing the counties of Chaffee, Delta, Eagle, Garfield, Gunnison, Lake, Mesa, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, and Summit. He retired in March 2004 as regional president of US Bank for western Colorado after 34 years in the banking industry. Mr. Aden has served on the Commission since September 1997 and his term will expire on July 1, 2015.

Gary M. Reiff of Englewood was reappointed to serve as commissioner from the 3rd Transportation District, representing the counties of Arapaho and Douglas. He is the chief operating officer and chief legal officer for Black Creek Group/Dividend Capital Group. Mr. Reiff, who currently chairs the Commission, has served since August of 2009. His term will expire on July 1, 2017.

Transportation commissioners’ appointments are all subject to Senate confirmation, which will occur during the 2014 legislative session. For more information about the State Transportation Commission or its members, including photos and meeting dates, please visit the CDOT web page at:

For information on CDOT projects statewide, call 511 or log onto  To receive real-time updates about road conditions in your area, visit and click on the green cell phone icon in the upper right hand corner of the page. Updates are also available via Twitter @coloradodot and be sure to “Like” our Facebook page at