Pueblo Attorney & Former State Legislator Bill Thiebaut Appointed to State Transportation Commission

August 21, 2013 - Statewide Transportation Plan - Governor John Hickenlooper has announced another appointment to the State Transportation Commission—former state legislator, Bill Thiebaut.

The 11-member Transportation Commission formulates general policy for the Colorado Department of Transportation with respect to the management, construction and maintenance of public highways and other transportation systems in the state. The Commission also works to assure that the preservation and enhancement of Colorado’s environment, safety, mobility and economics is considered in the planning of all transportation projects.

Each commissioner is appointed by the governor, confirmed by the senate, and serves a four-year term. To provide continuity, the commissioners’ term expiration dates are staggered every two years. Mr. Thiebaut was appointed to represent Commission District 10, which includes the counties of Baca, Bent, Crowley, Custer, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Otero, Prowers and Pueblo.

Mr. Thiebaut, an attorney, resides in Pueblo. He served in the Colorado General Assembly from 1987-2002. From 1987-1993 he was a member of the Colorado House of Representatives. In 1993 he was designated to fill a vacancy in Pueblo’s state senate seat and was re-elected to the Colorado Senate in 1994 and 1998. He was Senate Majority Leader from 2001-02. While serving in the legislature Mr. Thiebaut contributed to Colorado’s statewide transportation needs and had a keen interest in regional needs such as prioritizing rural roads and highways, as well as rural air service. As an adjunct faculty member in the Political Science Department at Colorado State University-Pueblo, he lectures in constitutional law courses. In the past he has served as Pueblo County Public Trustee (1979-86) and as Pueblo’s District Attorney (2005-2012).

“I am appreciative for the confidence that the governor has in my abilities to serve on the Transportation Commission,” Thiebaut said, “I am eager to work with the staff at CDOT, its executive director, and the citizens of Colorado to continue to make our statewide transportation system safe and to improve it for all Coloradoans.”

Earlier in July, the Governor announced the appointment of Shannon M. Gifford of Denver to represent the 1st Transportation District, representing Denver, as well as Sidny K. Zink of Durango, to serve as commissioner from the 8th Transportation District, representing the counties of Alamosa, Archuleta, Conejos, Costilla, Dolores, Hinsdale, La Plata, Mineral, Montezuma, Rio Grande, Saguache, San Juan and San Miguel.

Douglas Aden of Grand Junction was reappointed to serve as commissioner from the 7th Transportation District, representing the counties of Chaffee, Delta, Eagle, Garfield, Gunnison, Lake, Mesa, Montrose, Ouray, Pitkin, and Summit. Gary M. Reiff of Englewood was reappointed to serve as commissioner from the 3rd Transportation District, representing the counties of Arapaho and Douglas.

Transportation commissioners’ appointments are all subject to senate confirmation, which will occur during the 2014 legislative session. For more information about the State Transportation Commission or its members, including photos and meeting dates, please visit the CDOT web page at:  http://www.coloradodot.info/about/transportation-commission.

For information on CDOT projects statewide, call 511 or log onto www.cotrip.org.  To receive real-time updates about road conditions in your area, visit www.coloradodot.info and click on the green cell phone icon in the upper right hand corner of the page. Updates are also available via Twitter @coloradodot and be sure to “Like” our Facebook page at www.facebook.com/coloradodot.