Telephone Town Halls Offering Citizens Forum to Talk Transportation

March 19, 2014 - Statewide Transportation Plan - DENVER – The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) is hosting a series of telephone town hall meetings this spring, providing the public with an opportunity to ask questions and provide input about their regional transportation needs.

Beginning in early April and continuing through early June, residents in all 64 counties will be called at random through an automated system and invited to take part in the telephone forums.  Coloradoans who choose to join in will have the opportunity to express their thoughts about transportation, how CDOT should focus its limited funding, discuss the link between transportation and the economy and weigh in on regional priorities.

“It’s important that we hear from citizens throughout the state on how best to invest our limited transportation funds and what projects are a priority in their area,” said CDOT Executive Director Don Hunt.  “By providing feedback, it’ll help us develop the Statewide Transportation Plan.”

The interactive calls will reach out to approximately 375,000 people statewide.  Residents simply stay on the line after answering their phones and will be connected to the meeting automatically.  Anyone who wants to participate but did not receive a call can dial in, toll-free, at 1-877-229-8493, PIN 112034.

“In crafting a statewide vision for transportation in Colorado it’s vital that we hear from all Coloradoans in every county,” said Transportation Commission Chairman Doug Aden.  “Historically, CDOT has had difficulty getting citizens to attend public meetings so this new approach allows us to have these important discussions and people don’t even leave home.”

During the session, participants will be able to ask questions and discuss local issues with their transportation commissioner.  In addition, people will be able to use their keypad to answer live polls during the forum.

All forums begin at 7 p.m. and are scheduled as follows:



Covering These Counties

Wednesday, April 02

Gunnison Valley

Delta, Gunnison, Ouray, Montrose, San Miguel, Hinsdale

Tuesday, April 08

San Luis Valley

Chaffee, Saguache, Mineral, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla


Thursday, April 10


Logan, Sedgwick, Phillips, Washington, Yuma, Kit

Carson, Cheyenne, Lincoln, Elbert


April 22



Dolores, Montezuma, La Plata, San Juan, Archuleta

Thursday, April 24


Crowley, Kiowa, Otero, Bent, Prowers, Baca

Thursday, May 01


Garfield, Eagle, Pitkin, Lake, Summit

Tuesday, May 06

South Central

Huérfano, Las Animas

Thursday, May 08

Central Front Range

Park, Fremont, Custer, Teller, El Paso

Tuesday, May 13


Moffat, Routt, Jackson, Grand, Rio Blanco


Upper Front Range

Rural Larimer, Weld, Morgan

Tuesday, May 20

Denver Area

Counties TBD

Wednesday, May 28

Denver Area

Counties TBD

Thursday, May 22

North Front Range MPO

Weld and Larimer


June 24

Pikes Peak MPO

El Paso and Teller

Thursday, May 29

Pueblo MPO


Tuesday, June 03

Grand Valley