Cultural Resources Program

Archaeology and History

CDOT has supported history and archaeology compliance programs since 1974, both of which are included within the framework of Cultural Resources. Historical and archaeological investigations entail the documentation, interpretation and preservation of cultural resources that are evaluated as significant in the context of our shared historic and prehistoric heritage. Cultural resource research is undertaken by in-house CDOT professional staff and private consultants for all state and federally funded transportation construction and maintenance projects that require substantial ground disturbance.

Rocky Mountain PBS airing of Colorado Experience: Gateway to the High County - As the highest vehicular tunnel in the world with an elevation of 11,155 feet, the Eisenhower-Johnson Memorial Tunnel is a massive engineering achievement. Armed with 150 security cameras and serving over 30,000 motorists per day, 365 days per year, the Tunnel runs as a well-oiled machine. However years of political and geological challenges almost prevented this "gateway to the high country."

EPB and Region Staff Selected for Historic Preservation Award
In November 2014, CDOT Cultural Resources staff—which includes Dan Jepson, Greg Wolff, Lisa Schoch and Kara Hahn of the DTD Environmental Programs Branch, and Regions 1 and 4 Historians Ashley Bushey and Jason Marmor, respectively—were notified of their selection to receive a 2015 Stephen H. Hart Award by History Colorado (the former Colorado Historical Society). The accolade, for “Initiating and Developing a Collaborative Mitigation Program Throughout Colorado,” recognizes CDOT for cultivating and maintaining a historic preservation compliance program that is among the very best in the state. CDOT staff coordinates effectively with the Colorado Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation (members of which submitted the nomination) as well as local agencies and entities, and has collectively become a leader in creative mitigation as part of the collaborative process for individual transportation projects. This honor is indicative of the professional, thorough and holistic way CDOT’s archaeologists and historians approach their duties. Like many CDOT employees, all six staff members strive to be successful by providing uniformly timely and streamlined methods of completing project responsibilities.

Historic Preservation Award

From left to right: Ed Nichols, State Historic Preservation Officer, Ashley Bushey, formerly of CDOT Region 1, Lisa Schoch, CDOT HQ, Kara
Hahn, formerly of CDOT HQ, Dan Jepson, CDOT HQ, Greg Wolff, CDOT HQ, Jason Marmor, CDOT Region 4, and Ann Prtizlaff, Chair of the History Colorado Board of Directors.

History Colorado established the Stephen H. Hart Awards in 1986 to recognize and celebrate historic preservation achievements across the state. The award is bestowed in honor of former longtime board member Stephen H. Hart, a founding partner of the law firm Holland & Hart and Colorado’s first State Historic Preservation Officer. Previous Hart Award recipients include former Denver Mayor Federico Pena, businessman and entrepreneur Phillip Anschutz, former Governor John Hickenlooper (prior to his political career), and many local and regional individuals, agencies, and entities.

The award was officially presented at a ceremony at the History Colorado Center in downtown Denver on February 4, 2015. EPB, as well as Regions 1 and 4, is proud of the accomplishments of its cultural resources staff and appreciative of the tribute imparted by our sister state agency.     

State Highway Department snowplow, 1949

State Highway Department rotary snowplow, Route 36 (1949) 

Colorado: The Official State Web Portal