Colorado Law Enforcement Officers Honored as Traffic Safety Heroes

May 2, 2012 - Traffic Safety - Denver – The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) is recognizing several Colorado law enforcement agencies and individual officers for their outstanding dedication to traffic safety in 2011.

“The work these officers, troopers and deputies do to enforce traffic safety laws are often overlooked, but they should be credited for saving lives on Colorado roadways each and every day,” said Glenn Davis, manager of impaired driving programs at CDOT.  “It is CDOT’s privilege to be able to honor them for their hard work, which is truly making an impact on reducing serious injuries crashes and needless deaths on our highways.”

CDOT provides state and federal grants to Colorado law enforcement agencies to support them in conducting overtime enforcement of DUI laws for the “Heat Is On” campaign, as well as enforcing seat belt and child passenger safety laws during “Click It or Ticket” enforcement periods.  The programs are having an impact on the number of traffic fatalities in Colorado, which declined to a record low in 2011, with 446 deaths.  That is a 40% percent decline since 2002, when 743 people were killed on Colorado roadways.  Seat belt use has also increased during this time, from 72% in 2002 to 82% in 2011.  And the number of people killed in alcohol-related crashes declined 53% during the same ten year period.

Awards were handed out today to metro area agencies at a ceremony in Denver. Awards were given to law enforcement agencies in Southern Colorado on April 11th in Alamosa, and in Grand Junction on April 18th.

The following agencies and individuals are being recognized as Traffic Safety Heroes:

Impaired Driving Enforcement

Top Agencies (Metro Category)

  1. Denver Police Department – 1,451 DUI arrests
  2. Colorado Springs Police Department – 753 DUI arrests
  3. Larimer County Sheriff’s Office – 396 DUI arrests
  4. Lakewood Police Department – 359 DUI arrests
  5. CSP Troop 2B Colorado Springs – 343 DUI arrests


Top Agencies (Rural Category)

  1. Avon Police Department – 141 DUI arrests
  2. Durango Police Department – 108 DUI arrests
  3. CSP Troop 5B Alamosa – 98 DUI arrests
  4. Glenwood Springs Police Department – 82 DUI arrests
  5. Alamosa Police Department – 76 DUI arrests


Seat Belt Enforcement

Top Agencies (Metro Category)

  1. Arapahoe County Sheriff’s Office - 1,021 citations
  2. CSP Troop 4A Fruita – 726 citations
  3. Aurora Police Department - 677 citations
  4. Lakewood Police Department – 460 citations
  5. CSP Troop 1D Commerce City – 402 citations

Top Agencies (Rural Category)

  1. CSP Troop 4C Glenwood Springs – 433 citations
  2. CSP Troop 5B Alamosa – 352 citations
  3. CSP Troop 4B Craig – 162 citations
  4. CSP Trop 2C Lamar – 157 citations
  5. Monte Vista Police Department – 149 citations


Top Individual Law Enforcement Awards

During 2011, the following law enforcement officers wrote a combined 3,746 seat belt citations and made 1,660 DUI arrests.

Deputy Beau Baggett             Arapahoe County SO

Lt. Gregg Daly                       Avon PD

Officer David Trujillo              Denver PD

Agent Jason Bush                   Lakewood PD

Deputy Tyson Russell              Larimer County SO

Deputy Ted Wilson                 Larimer County SO

Deputy Jason Hart                  Larimer County SO

Officer Casey Cashman            Parker PD

Trooper Blake Hancey            CSP Troop 1C Castle Rock

Trooper David Gurule             CSP Troop 1C Castle Rock

Trooper Michael Tafoya          CSP Troop 2A Canon City

Trooper Emily Warren             CSP Troop 2B Colo. Spgs.

Trooper Michael Carr             CSP Troop 2B Colo. Spgs.

Trooper Duane Lewis              CSP Troop 3A Greeley

Corporal Eric Wynn                 CSP Troop 3A Greeley

Trooper Ian Jones                  CSP Troop 3C Fort Collins

Trooper Howard Thompson     CSP Troop 3C Fort Collins

Trooper Chad Kissler              CSP Troop 3C Fort Collins

Trooper Kevin Richard            CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Lucas Johnson          CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Andrew Gardner        CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Joshua Curtis            CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Dan Chermok             CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Kemitt White             CSP Troop 4A Fruita

Trooper Rusty Sanchez           CSP Troop 5A Durango

Kristina Galvez                       CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Colin Fowler              CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Jesse Bartunek          CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Travis DePriest           CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Jon Strickland            CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper J. Vince Benavides      CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Darrin Rodriguez         CSP Troop 5B Alamosa

Trooper Garrett Reich             CSP Troop 5C Montrose

Trooper Brett Hilling                CSP Troop 5C Montrose

Trooper Nick Carnival               CSP Troop 6A Golden

Trooper Brendon Simmons         CSP Troop 6B Frisco

Officer Evan Driscoll                  Steamboat Springs PD

Sr. Officer Terry Haase              Westminster PD

Sr. Officer Rodney Sanchez        Westminster PD

Officer Talon Darling                 Wheat Ridge PD