Safety

Alcohol and Impaired Driving


Nearly 60 people in Colorado are arrested for impaired driving each day. To help reduce alcohol-related crashes and save lives in Colorado, CDOT and BACtrack have teamed for an unprecedented partnership to promote the use of smartphone breathalyzers. Alcohol affects everyone differently and your blood-alcohol content (BAC) can be affected by a variety of factors. A breathalyzer is the best way to get an accurate BAC reading. Even one or two drinks can put you over the DWAI or DUI limit. Don't risk it; know your BAC is zero before you decide to drive.

The BACtrack Mobile Pro and BACtrack Trace are police-grade breathalyzers that provide users an accurate estimate of their BAC. The BACtrack Mobile Pro can also estimate when your BAC will return to zero from the BACtrack app, providing valuable information when drinking.

Whether you're a yogi who enjoys a glass of wine between classes, a craft beer fanatic who relishes a cold beer or a weekend brunch enthusiast who can't resist a mimosa, smartphone breathalyzers can keep all Coloradans safe. CDOT's partnership with BACtrack makes breathalyzers more accessible than ever to Coloradans.

 

 

This program is also supported by the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility. The Foundation brings more than 25 years of leadership in the fight against drunken driving and underage drinking.

Check out Responsibility.org's Virtual Bar, which uses the latest science to help provide a better understanding of how different factors affect your BAC on an individual level.

 

Past Campaigns & Resources

In 2017, CDOT partnered with BACtrack to determine if smartphone breathalyzers help those with a previous DUI conviction avoid a second offense. In the six weeks prior to receiving their smartphone breathalyzers, 28 percent of the more than 375 participating first-time DUI offenders indicated they may have driven a vehicle impaired.

After receiving the breathalyzers, only 9 percent potentially drove impaired, and only one individual reported a DUI conviction. Results show 75 percent of participants did use their breathalyzer to determine if they were safe to drive after consuming alcohol, and 94 percent agreed that everyone who regularly drinks should own a personal breathalyzer.

In summer 2016, CDOT distributed smartphone breathalyzers to 225 randomly-chosen participants in the Denver metro area. In exchange, participants agreed to provide feedback to CDOT on their experience.

According to CDOT research, young adults do not consider driving after just a few drinks to be impaired driving. It's time to start knowing how alcohol affects you before making decisions that can change your life and those around you.

CDOT developed an "A Few Can Still Be Dangerous" campaign to reinforce the common misconception that driving after just a few drinks isn't impaired driving. To further break that notion and continue to enlighten people to the individual effects of alcohol, CDOT is working to get breathalyzers into the hands of more Colorado residents.

The Heat Is On is Colorado's high-visibility enforcement campaign that combines increased DUI enforcement with a strong public awareness campaign during 12 enforcement periods throughout the year. CDOT provides grants to law enforcement agencies statewide to conduct overtime DUI enforcement using state and federal funding. CDOT's Public Relations Office uses federal funds for media relations, advertising and community outreach.

CDOT's Office of Transportation Safety also provides federal grants for other impaired driving programs, including DUI courts, a traffic safety resource prosecutor and law enforcement coordinator, as well as training for law enforcement in the areas of drug evaluation and standard field sobriety testing.

Whatever ride-sharing service you prefer, make sure to request a sober ride before driving impaired.

Lyft is a ride-sharing service that dispatches the nearest available driver to your current location based on your phone's GPS. Simply download the mobile app to request a ride with the tap of a button.

Promo code: CDOTRideSafe

If you're new to Lyft, sign up with the promo code CDOTRideSafe for a $20 credit on your first ride. Once you download the app, create an account and enter the code in the payment section. Or, you can have a link to the app sent directly to your phone.


Wherever you're headed, with just the tap of a button, you can get a safe ride with Uber.

Promo code: NODUICO

Sign up and receive $15 off your first ride by entering NODUICO in the payment section of the app.

Been through a checkpoint recently?
Take our survey.

DUI checkpoint image

noduiimage
Contact Us
  • Glenn Davis
    Highway Safety Manager
    303-757-9462


  • Carol Gould
    Highway Safety Manager/
    State DRE Coordinator
    303-757-9468


  • Leslie Chase
    High-Visibility Enforcement
    303-512-5003


  • Kim Ferber
    Standardized Field Sobriety Test/Drug Recognition Expert
    303-757-9643


  • Robin Rocke
    Project Manager
    303-757-9808


  • Media Contact:
    Sam Cole
    Communications Manager
    303-757-9484


Colorado: The Official State Web Portal